Golden Age

The Shifting Tides Book 1

The first book in an epic fantasy series by James Maxwell, author of the bestselling Evermen Saga.

War is coming to Xanthos. The king refuses to face the truth, but his overlooked second son, Dion, can see the signs: strange warships patrolling, rumors of a new tyrant across the sea, and the princess of a neighboring land taken hostage…

The princess, Chloe, refuses to be a helpless pawn in this clash of nations. She and Dion will need allies to turn the tide of war – and there are none more powerful than the eldren, a mysterious race of shapeshifters who live in the Wilds.

As a world-spanning conflict begins, a king is betrayed, a prophecy is fulfilled, and Dion learns a secret about his past that changes his life forever.

The Shifting Tides

Book 1

Book 2

Book 3

Book 4

Explore The Shifting Tides World

War rips apart the foundations of an ancient world in this vivid, sweeping tale of adventure, intrigue and magic, set among the empires and city states that surround an all-important sea. 


book reviews

What Readers Are Saying


The Evermen Saga

The Firewall Trilogy
A Girl From Nowhere - Book 1